Fintan O'Toole's Blog

Observations on the world of HR

Illegitimi non carborundum

leave a comment »

Last year I ran the Marathon.

You, my friends colleagues and family did the hard work and raised over  £5,000 for Missing People. I decided that this year I would give my legs (and your pockets) a rest.
In April I plan to do the Swimathon for Marie Curie – 5000 metres – 200 lengths – and all lying down! And a modest target for you of £500. Please give a little if you can.

Please read on
The “carborundum” is that we’ve learned that my sister in law, Debs, was diagnosed with Smouldering Myeloma which is the asymptomatic form of Myeloma. Myeloma is a treatable but currently incurable type of bone marrow cancer arising from plasma cells, which are normally found in the bone marrow.We want to help and we can help the charity that works day and night to support those who are looking to find a cure and to support those who are affected by it.

Debbie has got us all climbing mountains in Yorkshire and walking 24 miles to boot in the Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge in July. So sorry folks I need to put a strain on your pockets again.  Please give as generously as you can. 

I don’t want to let Marie Curie down and I appreciate that I’ve asked an awful lot from you in the past.  If you can spare a little and can support my gentle swim amd stroll I will be ever so grateful.

Written by fintanotoole

March 12, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment